Skip to content Skip to navigation menu

Mississippi Gun Laws

Like many states in the southeast region, Mississippi has some of the nation’s most permissive gun laws. The state has full pre-emption over local and county gun ordinances. In fact, local governments are prohibited from passing laws that infringe on the right to bear arms. As a “shall issue” state, it is very simple to obtain a concealed carry permit in Mississippi. Mississippi remains one of the nation’s most gun-friendly states.

Mississippi Gun Laws at a Glance


Concealed Carry Premit Required No
Open Carry Premitted Yes
Waiting period before purchasing No
Lost and Stolen Firearm Reporting No
Firearms License Required for Purchasing No
Universal Background Check No
Firearm Registration No
Large Capacity Magazine Ban No

Firearm License Requirements


No license is required to obtain a firearm in Mississippi.

Background Checks


Private firearms transfers are not subject to background checks in Mississippi. In accordance with federal law, licensed dealers must initiate background checks on buyers before the sale of a firearm.

Gun Shows


Mississippi does not regulate gun shows.

Hardware and Ammunition Restrictions

Hardware Restrictions
Assault Weapons Not restricted
50 Caliber Rifles Not restricted
Machine Guns Not restricted
Large Capacity Magazines Not restricted
Ammunition Armor-piercing ammunition is prohibited.

Prohibited Persons


Mississippi prohibits felons from owning or possessing firearms.

Prohibited Places

Location Restrictions Exceptions
Schools Mississippi prohibits firearms on any educational property. Firearms used for school purposes or events. Any person carrying a firearm in a car that he or she does not brandish or display in any careless, angry, or threatening manner.
Vehicles Mississippi prohibits the open carrying of firearms in vehicles without a concealed carry permit. A person may legally transport a firearm within a vehicle, whether or not he or she has obtained a permit.

Concealed Carry Laws


Notify Officer No
“No Gun” Signs Enforced
In-Vehicle Carry Permitted
Restaurant Carry Permitted
State Park Carry Permitted
While Hunting Permitted

Obtaining a Concealed Carry License

Individuals may carry loaded firearms on their person without any kind of permit. Despite this, the state still issues concealed carry permits.

Mississippi is a ‘shall issue’ state, meaning that any person will be granted a concealed carry license if they satisfy certain requirements.

Requirements for a Concealed Carry License
An applicant must:
  • Be 21 years of age or 18 if a member of the military
  • Have been a resident of the state for at least 12 months (does not apply to station military or retired law enforcement officers)
  • Not have been convicted of a felony (unless pardoned)
  • Not suffer from any physical condition which prevents the safe use of a handgun
  • Have no violent misdemeanor convictions in the past 3 years
  • Not have been adjudicated mentally incompetent (or must wait five years from the date of a court-ordered restoration of mental capacity)
  • Not have been committed to a mental institution or mental health treatment facility (unless he or she has a certificate from a psychiatrist licensed in Mississippi stating that he or she has not suffered from the disability for 5 years)
  • Not chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages to the extent of impairment
  • Not be a fugitive from justice
  • Not have been found guilty or had the imposition of sentence suspended on any felony unless 3 years have elapsed since probation (or any other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled)
  • Meet federal law requirements

Concealed Carry Firearms Training

Mississippi does not require any type of training to obtain a concealed carry license.

However, concealed carry permit holders who have completed a voluntary firearms training are granted extended carrying privileges. These permit holders may carry concealed firearms into schools, polling places, government meetings, bars, churches, and private property.

Concealed Carry Location Restrictions

Even with a valid concealed carry license, you may not carry concealed firearms at the following locations:

  • Any “place of nuisance”
  • Any police, sheriff or highway patrol station
  • Any detention facility (including prisons and jails)
  • Any courthouse or courtroom (however a judge may carry a concealed weapon and grant others the permission to do so in a courtroom)
  • Any polling place
  • Any meeting place of the governing body of any governmental entity
  • Any meeting of the Legislature or a legislative committee
  • Any school, college, or professional athletic event (not related to firearms)
  • The bar areas of any restaurants
  • Any schools
  • Inside the passenger terminal of any airport
  • Any church or other place of worship
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law
  • Any place where it is posted that the “carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited.”
  • However, upon completion of a voluntary firearms training course, many of these restrictions are lifted. For these permit holders, they are only restricted from carrying in the following places:
  • Any courtroom13 during a judicial proceeding (or when otherwise prohibited by a judge)
  • Any place of nuisance
  • Any police, sheriff, or highway patrol station
  • Any detention facility, prison, or jail

Disclaimer: The information provided here is not to be construed as legal advice or acted upon as if it is legal advice: it is provided for informational and entertainment purposes only. While we strive to provide accurate, up-to-date content, we cannot guarantee the accuracy, completeness, or currency of the information. Gun laws can change frequently, especially at the state and local levels. Application of gun laws can be unique to an individual’s situation. We recommend that each individual consult with a competent and qualified legal professional before purchasing, transporting, or using any firearm or firearm-related product.