Skip to content Skip to navigation menu

Michigan Gun Laws

Michigan generally respects the right to bear and hold arms, although the state does have some restrictive legislation in place. The Constitution of Michigan reads that "Every person has a right to keep and bear arms for the defense of himself and the state." A license is required to own certain types of firearms, but there are very few hardware restrictions. As a “shall issue” state, obtaining a concealed carry permit in Michigan is a relatively straightforward process.

Michigan Gun Laws at a Glance


Concealed Carry Premit Required Yes
Open Carry Premitted Yes
Waiting period before purchasing No
Lost and Stolen Firearm Reporting Yes
Firearms License Required for Purchasing Yes
Universal Background Check Yes / No for long guns
Firearm Registration No
Large Capacity Magazine Ban No

Firearm License Requirements


Buyer licensing is only required when buying from a non-federally licensed firearms dealer. In this case, Michigan requires that the purchaser has a valid handgun purchase license or a license to carry a concealed handgun.

Michigan law states that law enforcement must issue handgun purchase licenses “with due speed and diligence” to qualified applicants. A qualified applicant is anyone who:

  • Is not subject to any of several specified court orders
  • Is 18 years of age or older
  • Is a U.S. citizen or lawfully admitted immigrant
  • Is a legal resident of Michigan;
  • Does not have a felony or other specified criminal charge pending against him or her
  • Is not prohibited from possessing, using, transporting, selling, purchasing, carrying, shipping, receiving, or distributing a firearm under state law
  • Has not been determined to be “insane” or “legally incapacitated”
  • Is not under an order of involuntary commitment to an inpatient or outpatient mental institution

Background Checks


When buying from an unlicensed seller, purchasers are required to have a handgun purchase license or a license to carry a concealed weapon. As part of these licensing processes, the handgun purchaser is subject to a background check.

Long gun transfers from private sellers are not subject to background checks.

Gun Shows


Michigan does not regulate gun shows.

Hardware and Ammunition Restrictions

Hardware Restrictions
Assault Weapons No restrictions..
50 Caliber Rifles No restrictions.
Machine Guns Prohibited
Large Capacity Magazines No restrictions.
Ammunition Armor-piercing ammunition is prohibited.

Prohibited Persons


Any person convicted of a felony is prohibited from owning a firearm unless that person has specifically had their rights to firearm ownership restored.

Prohibited Places

Location Restrictions Exceptions
Schools Firearms are prohibited in public, private, denominational, or parochial schools offering developmental kindergarten, kindergarten, or grades one through twelve. This does not apply to: Possession of a non-concealed firearm by a person licensed to carry a concealed firearm. Possession of a firearm with permission from the school. Possession of a weapon given by a school instructor for the purpose of education. Possession by a person 18 years or older while transporting a student to or from school, with the firearm unloaded and wrapped in an enclosed package.
Vehicles Michigan prohibits the carrying of a firearm (loaded or unloaded) in an occupied vehicle. This does not apply to:
  • Concealed handgun licensees
  • People transporting handguns for a lawful purpose
  • Authorized agents of a person licensed to manufacture firearms

Concealed Carry Laws


Notify Officer Yes
“No Gun” Signs Not Enforced
In-Vehicle Carry Permitted
Restaurant Carry Permitted
State Park Carry Permitted

Obtaining a Concealed Carry License

Michigan is a ‘shall issue’ state, meaning that if an applicant meets certain qualifications, they must be issued a concealed carry license.

Requirements for a Concealed Carry License
  • Is 21 years or older
  • Is a citizen of the United States or a lawful immigrant
  • Is a resident of Michigan, and has resided in Michigan for at least six months
  • Has completed a handgun safety training course certified by the state of Michigan or a national or state firearms training organization
  • Is not prohibited from possessing, using, transporting, selling, purchasing, carrying, shipping, receiving or distributing a firearm under Michigan law
  • Has never been convicted of a felony
  • Has no pending felony charges
  • Has not been dishonorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces;
  • Has not been found “guilty but mentally ill” of any crime and has not offered a plea of not guilty of, or been acquitted of, any crime by reason of insanity
  • Has never been subject to an order of involuntary commitment in an inpatient or outpatient mental institution
  • Does not have a diagnosed mental illness that includes an assessment that the individual presents a danger to himself or herself or others
  • Has not been convicted of a misdemeanor violation in the last eight years relating to specified crimes, including serious vehicle offenses; displaying sexually explicit materials to minors; assault or domestic assault; fourth-degree child abuse; accosting, enticing, or soliciting a child for immoral purposes; vulnerable adult abuse; solicitation to commit a felony; certain weapons crimes; or stalking
  • Is not under a court order of legal incapacity
  • Has a valid state-issued driver license or personal identification card.

Concealed Carry Firearms Training

Michigan requires that any applicant for a concealed handgun license must complete a handgun safety course certified by the state of Michigan or another national/state firearms training organization.

This training course must include three hours of live-fire exercises and eight hours of total instruction, with at least five hours of instruction in:

  • The safe storage, use, and handling of a handgun
  • Ammunition knowledge
  • The fundamentals of handgun shooting
  • Handgun shooting positions
  • Firearms and the law, including civil liability issues and the use of deadly force (This portion must be taught by an attorney or an individual otherwise trained in the use of deadly force)
  • Avoiding criminal attack and controlling a violent confrontation
  • All laws that apply to carrying a concealed handgun in Michigan

Concealed Carry Location Restrictions

Even with a valid concealed carry license, you may not carry concealed firearms at the following locations:

  • A “weapon-free school zone”. This includes any public or private, K-12 school, as well as vehicles used by a school to transport students to or from school property
  • A public or private child care center, public or private child-caring institution or public or private child-placing agency
  • Any area of a community college, college, or university
  • A sports arena or stadium
  • A bar or tavern where the primary source of income of the business is the sale of alcoholic liquor by the glass and it is consumed on the premises
  • Any property or facility owned or operated by a church, synagogue, mosque, temple or other place of worship, unless the presiding official permits the carrying of concealed pistols
  • Any entertainment facility with a seating capacity of 2,500 or more individuals
  • Any hospital

Disclaimer: The information provided here is not to be construed as legal advice or acted upon as if it is legal advice: it is provided for informational and entertainment purposes only. While we strive to provide accurate, up-to-date content, we cannot guarantee the accuracy, completeness, or currency of the information. Gun laws can change frequently, especially at the state and local levels. Application of gun laws can be unique to an individual’s situation. We recommend that each individual consult with a competent and qualified legal professional before purchasing, transporting, or using any firearm or firearm-related product.