Skip to content

Washington Initiative 1639/I-1639

What you need to know about the new restrictions on semi-automatic rifles

If you’re a Washington customer, you may have heard that there will be changes to certain firearm purchases as of July 1st, 2019. We’ve put this together to answer some of the most frequently asked questions that customers have, and hopefully clear up a few rumors that are going around.*

  • What’s happening on July 1st, 2019?
    • Beginning on July 1st, 2019, all semiautomatic rifle purchases in Washington will require a new enhanced background check, waiting period, proof of completing a safety training course, and an additional state transfer form.
    • Beginning on July 1st, 2019, Washington Concealed Pistol License (CPL) holders will no longer have instant background checks, and will not have same-day pickup.
    • Prior to July 1st, 2019, Washington consumers can purchase semiautomatic rifles without the new requirements
  • What about online firearm purchases?
    • Just like today, all Washington firearm transfers must be completed in stores. You can still order online from and have it shipped to one of our Washington locations before or after July 1st, 2019. The only difference is that once the new law goes into effect, you’ll need to comply with the new requirements before certain firearms can be transferred to you.
  • Will this include all semiautomatic rifles?
    • Yes, this includes all semiautomatic rifles, not just MSR’s. This law will affect all calibers, including rimfires like .22’s.
    • This will not affect bolt-action, pump/slide-action, lever-action, break-action, breechloaders, or other single-shot rifles.
    • This will not affect any shotguns, semiautomatic or otherwise.
  • Will there be limits to the number of semiautomatic rifles that I can purchase?
    • No, but there will be a $18 application fee per semiautomatic rifle you buy. For example, if you buy four semiautomatic rifles, you will pay a total of $72 for application fees (4 x $18 = $72), even if you purchase them all in one transaction.
  • What is the background check going to cost and how long will it take?
    • Each semiautomatic rifle will have its own $18 application fee.
    • There is a mandatory 10 business day waiting period.
  • What do I need to know about this new background check before I buy a semiautomatic rifle?
    • You must be at least 21 years of age.
    • You will need to bring your valid Washington driver’s license (or other qualifying, valid WA state-issued identification) for your background check.
    • You must provide proof of completing an I-1639 safety training course, see below for more information.
    • You must complete an additional state transfer form to be submitted to law enforcement and the DOL.
    • There is a mandatory 10 business day waiting period.
  • How can I get my I-1639 Safety Training Certificate of Completion?
    • All Legal Heat in-person WA CPL/CCW courses currently taught at Sportsman's Warehouse include qualification for the I-1639 certification.
    • Sportsman’s Warehouse is partnering with Legal Heat to offer a special discounted online course for our customers that should take less than an hour to complete.
    • See store for a coupon code for special savings on the online course.
    • Standalone in-person courses will be coming soon to our stores for those that prefer a classroom setting.
    • Visit Legal Heat’s WA I-1639 page for more information.

*This content is provided for informational purposes only, and does not serve as legal advice.