Skip to content Skip to navigation menu

Utah Gun Laws

Utah has very permissive gun laws compared to most states in the nation. The Utah state constitution affirms the right to bear arms for its citizens. There are very few hardware restrictions in the state, and it is very simple to lawfully own firearms for Utah residents. Obtaining a concealed carry license in Utah is also a straightforward process, as the state maintains a “shall issue” policy. Because of Utah’s gun-friendly laws, it is a popular state for firearms enthusiasts, hunters, and marksmen alike.

Utah Gun Laws at a Glance


Concealed Carry Premit Required Yes
Open Carry Premitted Yes
Waiting period before purchasing No
Lost and Stolen Firearm Reporting No
Firearms License Required for Purchasing No
Universal Background Check No
Firearm Registration No
Large Capacity Magazine Ban No

Firearm License Requirements


No type of license is required to obtain a firearm in Utah.

Background Checks


Utah does not require background checks on firearms transfers through unlicensed sellers. Per federal regulations, any transferee buying from a licensed seller will be subject to a background check. Concealed carry permit holders are exempt from background checks when purchasing firearms.

Gun Shows


Utah does not regulate gun shows.

Hardware and Ammunition Restrictions

Hardware Restrictions
Assault Weapons Not restricted
50 Caliber Rifles Not restricted
Machine Guns Prohibited to those under 18 years of age.
Large Capacity Magazines Not restricted
Ammunition Ammunition may not be brought into correctional facilities, mental health facilities, or institutions of higher education.

Prohibited Persons


Under Utah state law, prohibited persons are separated into Category I Restricted Persons and Category II Restricted Persons. Neither Category I or Category II persons may possess firearms.

A Category I Restricted Person is anyone who:

  • Has been convicted of any violent felony
  • Is on probation or parole for any felony
  • Is on parole from a secure facility
  • Within the last 10 years has been adjudicated delinquent for an offense which if committed by an adult would have been a violent felony
  • Under the influence of alcohol or any controlled substance (this applies to handguns only)
  • Is an alien who is illegally or otherwise illegally present in the U.S
  • A Category II Restricted Person is any person who:
  • Has been convicted of a felony or, within the last seven years, has been adjudicated delinquent for an offense which if committed by an adult would have been a felony
  • Is a regular and unlawful user of any drugs or controlled substances
  • Is in possession of a dangerous weapon and is knowingly and intentionally in unlawful possession of any Schedule I or II controlled substances
  • Has been found not guilty by reason of insanity of or (otherwise unable to stand trial for) a felony offense
  • Has been adjudicated mentally defective
  • Has been committed to a mental institution
  • Has been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces
  • Has renounced one’s US citizenship
  • Is subject to a final domestic violence protective order if that order includes a finding that:
    • The respondent or defendant represents a threat to the safety of an intimate partner
    • Explicitly prohibits the use (or attempted use or threat of use) of physical force that would reasonably be expected to cause bodily harm against an intimate partner or the child of that partner
  • Has been convicted of any domestic violence misdemeanor

Individuals subject to sexual violence protection orders are also generally prohibited from owning firearms.

Anyone who has been convicted of a crime and given an enhanced sentence due to the crime being “gang-related” is also prohibited from owning a firearm.

Prohibited Places

Location Restrictions Exceptions
Schools Firearms are prohibited on school premises. Exceptions to this prohibition include:
  • Firearms used for a lawful, approved activity
  • Possession at the person’s place of residence
  • Possession on the person’s property
  • Possession in any vehicle lawfully under the person’s control, other than a vehicle owned by the school or used by the school to transport students.
  • Possession by concealed carry permit holders
Vehicles Concealed firearms are prohibited in vehicles without a concealed carry license. Loaded long guns are prohibited in vehicles.. None.

Concealed Carry Laws


Notify Officer No
“No Gun” Signs Enforced in locations specifically mentioned by state law
In-Vehicle Carry Permitted
Restaurant Carry Permitted
State Park Carry Permitted
While Hunting Permitted

Obtaining a Concealed Carry License

Utah is a “shall issue” state. Any applicant who meets certain qualifications must be issued a concealed carry permit. The minimum age for obtaining a full concealed carry license is 21, though provisional licenses may be granted to 18-21 year olds.

Requirements for a Concealed Carry License
  • Has not been convicted of a felony
  • Has not been convicted of a violent crime
  • Has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol
  • Has not been convicted of the unlawful use of any controlled substances
  • Has not been convicted of any offense involving moral turpitude
  • Has not been convicted of any domestic violence offense
  • Has not been adjudicated as “mentally incompetent” (unless the applicant has had this adjudication reversed)
  • Is qualified to lawfully purchase and possess a firearm

Concealed Carry Firearms Training

Utah requires that evidence of firearms training be submitted alongside the concealed carry application. This training must be completed in person and not through electronic means. The training must include:

  • The safe loading, unloading, storage, and carrying of firearms to be concealed
  • Current laws defining lawful use of a firearm by a private citizen
  • Current laws defining the acceptable use of force by a private citizen
  • An applicant may satisfy the training requirements by any of the following:
  • Completion of any Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification-Approved course conducted by a firearms training organization
  • Certification of general firearm familiarity any person who has been certified by the bureau
  • Sufficient experience with a firearm through participation in an organized shooting competition, law enforcement, or military service

Concealed Carry Location Restrictions

Even with a concealed carry permit, you may not carry a concealed firearm in the following locations:

  • Any secure area in correctional or mental health facilities
  • Places of worship and private residences that have given notice that firearms are prohibited
  • Secure areas of airports
  • Anywhere if you are under the influence of alcohol, narcotics, or any controlled substance
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or state law or regulation

Disclaimer: The information provided here is not to be construed as legal advice or acted upon as if it is legal advice: it is provided for informational and entertainment purposes only. While we strive to provide accurate, up-to-date content, we cannot guarantee the accuracy, completeness, or currency of the information. Gun laws can change frequently, especially at the state and local levels. Application of gun laws can be unique to an individual’s situation. We recommend that each individual consult with a competent and qualified legal professional before purchasing, transporting, or using any firearm or firearm-related product.