Skip to content Skip to navigation menu

Alaska Gun Laws

Alaska has very permissive gun laws compared to the contiguous United States. No license is required to carry a handgun in Alaska, whether openly or concealed. Further, Alaska does not require Universal Background Checks or firearm licensing and registration. Local and city governments may have laws that are more restrictive, but local firearms regulation is invalidated by Alaska state law. Due to these laws and its largely rural population, Alaska is a very popular state for firearms enthusiasts, hunters, and single-gun owners alike.

Alaska Gun Laws at a Glance

Concealed Carry Premit Required No
Open Carry Premitted Yes
Waiting period before purchasing No
Lost and Stolen Firearm Reporting No
Firearms License Required for Purchasing No
Universal Background Check No
Firearm Registration No
Large Capacity Magazine Ban No

Firearm License Requirements


Alaska does not require gun owners to obtain any kind of license.

Background Checks


Alaska has no laws requiring background checks when purchasing firearms from unlicensed dealers.

When purchasing from licensed dealers, background checks are required in Alaska under federal law. Because Alaska has no state-level requirements for background checks, firearms dealers are required to initiate a background check through the FBI.

Gun Shows


Alaska has no laws regulating gun shows or the transferring of firearms at gun shows

Hardware and Ammunition Restrictions

Hardware Restrictions
Assault Weapons No restrictions
50 Caliber Rifles No restrictions
Machine Guns Alaska law categorizes machine guns as “prohibited weapons”, which are illegal to possess, transfer, sell, manufacture, or transport.
Large Capacity Magazines No restrictions
Ammunition Alaska has no restrictions on ammunition. However, state parole boards may prohibit released prisoners from obtaining or possessing ammunition.

Prohibited Persons


Felons and minors who have committed felony offenses are prohibited from possessing a concealable firearm. This prohibition is waived if 10 years or more have elapsed between the date of the violation and the offender’s discharge.

Convicted felons are also prohibited from knowingly residing in a dwelling where a concealed firearm is kept.

Alaska does not prohibit violent misdemeanants, persons with mental illnesses, or domestic abuse offenders from owning firearms.

Prohibited Places

Location Restrictions Exceptions
Schools Alaska prohibits both the open and concealed carrying of guns in preschool, elementary, junior high, or secondary schools. Alaska has no laws regarding firearms on college or university campuses.
Vehicles Alaska allows anyone to possess a firearm within a motor vehicle. Municipalities, local governments, or other persons may not prohibit such possession. Alaska also allows anyone to store a firearm in any parked vehicle as long as either the vehicle or firearm is locked. Municipalities, local governments, or other persons may not prohibit such possession. An employer is allowed to prohibit firearms in the following areas:
  • Vehicles owned, leased, or rented by the company.
  • Within ‘restricted access areas’ beyond a security checkpoint where visitors are screened.
  • In a parking lot owned or controlled by the employer within 300 feet of the restricted access area.
Alaska allows anyone to possess a firearm within a motor vehicle. Municipalities, local governments, or other persons may not prohibit such possession. Alaska also allows anyone to store a firearm in any parked vehicle as long as either the vehicle or firearm is locked. Municipalities, local governments, or other persons may not prohibit such possession. An employer is allowed to prohibit firearms in the following areas: Vehicles owned, leased, or rented by the company. Within ‘restricted access areas’ beyond a security checkpoint where visitors are screened. In a parking lot owned or controlled by the employer within 300 feet of the restricted access area. Alaska prohibits the possession of a firearm in a vehicle when the possessor is intoxicated by a psychoactive substance.
Public Courthouses Concealed and open carry of firearms prohibited. None.
Locations and events selling alcohol Concealed and open carry of loaded firearms prohibited in locations selling liquor for on-premises consumption. There are two affirmative defenses: The loaded firearm is a handgun that is covered or enclosed so that an observer cannot determine that it is a handgun without removing it from, or opening, that which covers or encloses it. The possession occurred at a restaurant and the defendant did not consume intoxicating liquor.

Concealed Carry Laws

Notify Officer Yes
“No Gun” Signs Enforced
In-Vehicle Carry Yes - unloaded and secured.
Restaurant Carry You may carry concealed, unloaded firearms in bars and restaurants that do not serve hard liquor.
State Park Carry Concealed carry is permitted in all state parks, state/national forests, state game management units, and roadside rest areas.
While Hunting Concealed carry permitted while hunting.

Obtaining a Concealed Carry License

You are not required to obtain a permit to carry a concealed firearm in Alaska. However, you may optionally apply for a concealed carry permit. By having this permit, you will be exempt from further background checks when buying additional firearms. You can also use this license to carry in other states with which Alaska has reciprocity agreements.

Requirements for a Concealed Carry License
Applicants for concealed carry licenses in Alaska must:
  • Be at least 21 years of age;
  • Be eligible to own or possess a handgun under state and federal law;
  • Have been a resident of Alaska for the preceding 90 days;
  • Not have been convicted of two or more class A misdemeanors (or similar laws in another jurisdiction) within the preceding six years;
  • Not currently be in, nor in the preceding three years been ordered by a court to complete, an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program
  • Have successfully completed a handgun training course.

Concealed Carry Firearms Training

Alaska does not require any sort of firearms training, knowledge, or expertise prior to the issuance of a concealed carry license.

Concealed Carry Location Restrictions

Alaska prohibits concealed carrying of a firearm in any of the following locations:

  • The grounds of, or on a parking lot immediately adjacent to, a child care center (other than a private residence);
  • A courtroom or office of the Alaska Court System, or a courthouse that is occupied only by the Alaska Court System and other justice-related agencies; or
  • A domestic violence or sexual assault shelter that receives funding from the state

Disclaimer: The information provided here is not to be construed as legal advice or acted upon as if it is legal advice: it is provided for informational and entertainment purposes only. While we strive to provide accurate, up-to-date content, we cannot guarantee the accuracy, completeness, or currency of the information. Gun laws can change frequently, especially at the state and local levels. Application of gun laws can be unique to an individual’s situation. We recommend that each individual consult with a competent and qualified legal professional before purchasing, transporting, or using any firearm or firearm-related product.